Back to Home

Remind Me Again

Having to discuss this entire mess in the corridor was a hassle, especially if the intent is to keep certain conversations to yourself.
They had just taken down a colony of Dead Rabbits, and learning of what was under their masks made the sinners question amongst themselves. Theories and whatnot, or why any of this was happening.
Heathcliff, however, was notably distant, but for apparently different reasons. Tapping the Manager's shoulder, he makes the effort to try and say what's on his mind.
Heathcliff REVENGE
Hey, clockface. Sorry, could you give me a minute or two? I've got something to say to this guy.
The Manager had been conversing with Kiya, and seeing Heathcliff point at him made them worried that some kind of internal argument was going to happen so soon.
Dante Manager
(Alright...it's kind of narrow here, but I'll tell the others to give you two some space.)
Something in Kiya makes him nervous, and he almost considers tugging at the Manager for some kind of compromise. He had been watching how understandably angered Heathcliff was over this whole ordeal. But it would be out of line to just walk away, so he nods in acknowledgement before following Heathcliff.
With the mysterious change wtihin the Manor, there really wasn't much time nor distance. Heathcliff fidgets about, sometimes scratching at his face as though something was on it.
The other sinner didn't want to admit it so loudly, but he was deeply worried about him.
Kiya 替紋
What is it?
Heathcliff REVENGE
Grh...alright. I dunno how else I can put this.
Heathcliff REVENGE
I've been mopin' around and watching how everyone else has been faring.
Heathcliff REVENGE
You've been anxious. So much that Ishmael pointed it out to me.
Kiya 替紋
.....
Kiya 替紋
I didn't want to say anything. You're going through a lot right now and—
Heathcliff REVENGE
To HELL with that!
Kiya flinches a bit. At Heathcliff's emphasis, the other sinners turn their heads, some with wide eyes.
Heathcliff REVENGE
Ah, shite...Mind your business, all of you!
He tries to shove that awkwardness aside, though comfort was never his best trait. Heathcliff holds Kiya by the shoulders and lowers his voice.
The best he can for only the other sinner to hear, and in the midst of the grief and pain trying to shoot out of his chest.
Kiya 替紋
Wh-What are you doing...?
Heathcliff REVENGE
Shut up for a sec. Alright?
Deep breaths. There's so much he wants to say. Questions that will never be answered, grievances that will never reach its receiver...
Heathcliff REVENGE
Remember what I said back in the bus?
Kiya 替紋
...That if you ever "lose the plot" we'd get you back on track?
Heathcliff REVENGE
Good. Didn't think there was still some space in that noggin.
Heathcliff REVENGE
Listen up. I still stand by those words. But I specifically said one of you would be able to pull me out of it.
Heathcliff REVENGE
Sure, the rest have their own little qualifications, and that's entirely on them should they choose to beat some sense back into me.
Heathcliff REVENGE
But if there's anyone...anyone at all...who can shield me from an growing shitstorm...
Heathcliff REVENGE
I want it to be you.
Heathcliff REVENGE
Don't let me down, alright?
Kiya 替紋
You don't mean that.
Heathcliff REVENGE
What do you—Are you seriously trying to deflect right now?!
Kiya 替紋
No, what I meant is-!
It was Kiya's turn to speak from his heart. Staring into Heathcliff's eyes embarrassed him just a bit, but the focus was sorely needed. He takes Heathcliff's hands and holds them. They were so rough and scarred, unlike his own.
He really, really wished he could take all that pain for himself so that Heathcliff wouldn't have to suffer anymore.
Kiya 替紋
All of us are here for you, Heath. We just...need to work together.
Kiya 替紋
If fighting you is what it takes...I don't really want to, but I'll join everyone else for your sake.
Kiya 替紋
If something terrible really does happen, I...
Kiya 替紋
I hope by then your ears will still recognize my voice.
Heathcliff REVENGE
...I hope so too.
Dante Manager
(Um, guys...?)
They both turn their head. How long has the Manager been watching...? Kiya then realizes his fingers were still intertwined with Heathcliff's. His face turns bright red.
Heathcliff REVENGE
What part of "mind your business" did you not get, clockface!
Dante Manager
(I was just dropping by to say we need to go...!)
Just minutes after, the usual bickering returns. Kiya swears they were far enough that their conversation was solely between them.
He can only hope things get better from here.